How to Use CPM Calculator
To calculate the cpm:
Enter the ad campaign cost and then the total ad impressions leave cpm blank.
If you would like to calculate how many impressions you would get with a certain campaign cost and cpm leave impressions blank.
If you would like to calculate the campaign cost with number of impressions and cpm, leave the campaign cost blank.
How to calculate CPM
:(cost/Impressions) X 1000
- A clothing company has a budget of $5,000 for their ad campaign and are looking for a cheap CPM.
- The company also wants 50,000 impressions
- To calculate the CPM for this we use the CPM formula: cost/impressions X 1000
- 5,000/350,000 X 1000 = 14.28
- The CPM that the company can afford is $14.28/
- A sports company has just at the halfway point of their ad campaign and want to know what their CPM is so far.
- So far the company has spent $2,000 with 23,500 impressions
- Again use the CPM formula: cost/impressions X 1000
- (2,000/130,500) X 100 =15.32
- The companies CPM so far is 15.32
Cost per mille (CPM), With milli being the french word for thousand. It is a metric often used in the online advertising industry to calculate how cost effective an ad campaign is by referring to the cost per 1,000 impressions. Usually it is used to compare the performance of different ad campaigns and/or ad publishers.
When an ad is placed on a website. CPM is just one of the methods used to determine how well the ad is doing. Some other methods are Click through rate, Cost per click, Revenue per mille and Cost per acquisition. There is also a CTR calculator and CPA calculator available on calculationworld.
CPM is often used when an ad campaign is focused on increasing their brands awareness.